Texas Finance Summary
The 2020 General Election was on November 3rd
View Races
Number of the Week
Political Profile

Texas Government:

Governor: Greg Abbott (R)

Lieutenant Governor: Dan Patrick (R)

Attorney General: Ken Paxton (R)

Land Commissioner: George P. Bush (R)

Comptroller: Glenn Hegar (R)

Agriculture Commissioner: Sid Miller (R)

Railroad Commissioners: Christi Craddick (R), Wayne Christian (R), and Ryan Sitton (R). Railroad Commissioners are up for reelection every six years, in alternating terms.

Learn More About Texas:

  • Limits on Campaign Contributions
  • Upcoming Elections
  • Campaign Finance Filing Deadlines
  • Legislative Sessions
  • State House of Representatives
  • State Senate 
  • Term Limits

Learn More
Campaign Finance Snapshot
Total Contributions
Candidate Contributions
PAC Contributions
Total Expenditures
Candidate Expenditures
PAC Expenditures
Top Candidates
CandidateTotal DonationsTotal Expenditures
Greg Abbott $44,875,408.89$85,087,758.10
Dan Patrick $17,673,692.50$25,157,444.93
Ken Paxton $8,650,602.71$12,882,381.12
Dennis Bonnen $4,776,551.13$926,546.74
Justin Nelson $3,410,439.97$6,543,896.92
Christi Craddick $3,371,593.77$3,688,358.14
Angela Paxton $3,028,434.67$6,350,539.02
George Bush $2,841,006.74$5,122,964.31
Donald Huffines $2,449,162.62$3,590,342.53
Joe Straus III $2,398,837.88$5,144,053.60
View All Candidates
Top PACs
PACTotal DonationsTotal Expenditures
ActBlue Texas $9,929,767.43$10,168,603.78
Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC $9,812,826.44$8,621,231.23
Texas REALTORS Political Action Committee $9,531,386.39$60,500,567.90
Empower Texans PAC (DISSOLVED) $5,859,479.00$5,774,309.28
Republican Party of Texas $5,451,734.41$5,850,719.65
Associated Republicans of Texas Campaign Fund $4,935,980.24$5,021,782.01
Annie's List $3,633,906.17$3,806,613.25
Republican State Leadership Committee PAC and Individual Account $3,324,526.00$3,943,807.06
BNSF Railway Company RAILPAC $3,291,195.44$453,576.51
Texas Right To Life PAC $3,192,377.32$3,502,539.85
View All PACs
Top Lobbyists
LobbyistLobbyist BusinessMin AmountMax Amount
Dean R McWilliams McWilliams Governmental Affairs Consultants$3,105,017.00$6,094,999.22
Andrea McWilliams McWilliams Governmental Affairs Consultants$3,175,004.00$5,889,999.40
Mark Vane Attorney$2,870,015.00$5,724,999.14
Todd M Smith Impact Texas Communicaions, LLP$4,075,000.00$5,499,999.68
Roland Leal Lobbyist$2,225,000.00$4,449,999.54
Royce Pabst Poinsett Attorney$2,030,044.00$4,439,999.05
Robert D Miller Attorney$2,460,002.00$4,394,999.35
Trey J Blocker Attorney$2,575,005.00$4,374,999.53
Neal T Jones Jr consultant$1,330,143.00$4,104,998.07
Ron E Lewis Ron Lewis & Associates$2,025,001.00$4,059,999.41
View All Lobbying
Top Donors
Timothy M and Terri Dunn $4,255,300.00
Farris & JoAnn Wilks $3,792,229.76
George Soros $3,010,000.00
S Javaid Anwar $1,826,859.29
Holloway Frost & Kathaleen Wall $1,705,242.16
Richard Weekley $1,677,182.48
Forward Majority Action $1,667,662.19
Charles C Butt $1,640,600.00
Robert & Janice McNair $1,627,045.00
H Ross Perot Jr $1,526,000.00
View All Donors
Recent Articles
Contributing Writer | 11/21/2020

With the 87th session of the Texas Legislature rapidly approaching in January, multiple reports have taken note of a new player looking to roll the dice on influencing Texas politics – the casino industry.  According to our data, casino mogul Sheldon Adelson took his place as a top ten donor in Texas state political contributions …

Contributing Writer | 11/20/2020

Texas House District 112 includes portions of Dallas, Garland, Richardson, Rowlett, Sachse, and Wylie. In 2018, Republican Angie Chen Button won re-election to the seat by 2.08 percentage points against Democratic opponent, Brandy K. Chambers. In 2020, Chen Button narrowly defeated Chambers in a rematch, winning by 0.33 percentage points. Brandy K. Chambers (D) Angie …

Contributing Writer | 11/20/2020

Texas House District 92 includes Bedford, Euless, Hurst, and portions of other communities in Tarrant County. Republican State Rep. Jonathan Stickland held on to the District 92 seat for his party in 2018 by 2.39 percentage points. Stickland did not run for reelection. In 2020, Republican Jeff Cason defeated Democrat Jeff Whitfield for the open …

Contributing Writer | 11/20/2020

Texas House District 121 includes a portion of San Antonio and Bexar County. In 2018, Republican Steve Allison was re-elected by 8.44 percentage points. In 2020, Allison’s defeated Democrat challenger Celina Montoya once again to retain his seat, this time by 7.06 percentagle points. Celina D. Montoya (D) Steve Allison (R)(I) Totals Total Money Raised …

Contributing Writer | 11/20/2020

Texas House District 28 includes the Fort Bend area. In 2018, Republican John Zerwas won re-election to the seat by 8.32 percentage points, but later announced his retirement. In January 2020, Republican Gary Gates won a hotly contested special election for the seat by 16 percentage points against Democrat Elizabeth Markowitz. Elizabeth Markowitz (D) Gary …